YES exploits …

Working with Google, I found out this site truely is hacked. I’m tracking down the offending code right now. It should be healthy within a day or two.

Some days ago this site was “hacked”, the offending files quickly removed.

Seems some readers are being warned. No worries. I’ve tested it with Exploit Scanner software. It’s clean.

7 comments ↓

#1 ryantroop on 07.11.10 at 4:50 pm

Care to elaborate… I had to update Java last time I checked the blog, and I didn’t think much of it. Something we should be worried about?

#2 coach Rick on 07.11.10 at 8:22 pm

Somebody hacked my host, Bluehost.com. … This was perhaps the 5th time in 5yrs.

Rather than admit they are at fault, Bluehost blames everyone they host on that server.

After contacting me, we deleted the offending files and checked the site. Google seems alarmist to me, putting up this extreme warning many days after the event happened. … Why don’t they recheck before putting up the warning.

I’d love to move the site to a more secure host, but both WordPress.com and SquareSpace told me last summer that they couldn’t move a site this large.

#3 TrampGuy on 07.12.10 at 2:23 pm

I’m getting antivirus warnings and blocks on each page.

#4 coach Rick on 07.12.10 at 4:02 pm

Seems I had another hack today.

… however, it looks like Google has identified the offending code. I removed it.

Let’s see how long it takes them to withdraw the warning.

#5 TrampGuy on 07.12.10 at 5:35 pm

now it seems to be ok :)

hope there won’t be any more hacks in the future. anyways – it does sound like a good idea to move the site to a safer host. I’m no computer wiz or anything but I’m pretty sure it’s possible. plus, having a site which is more susceptible to threats will eventually hurt the site and its visitors – I know I would be scared to enter such a site, and I seriously hope it won’t be the case with this one.

#6 Tim on 07.13.10 at 3:07 am

I had the same issue a few months ago – seems to be an issue with wordpress. More: http://techcocktail.com/home/2010/04/08/wordpress-hacked-virus-cloaks-search-engines/

#7 coach Rick on 07.13.10 at 3:48 pm

Thanks Tim.

WordPress.com has still never been hacked, so far as I know.

… And I’m wondering whether FourSquare might be safer as it’s a much smaller target … ??

Leave a Comment